Middle East – Western Asia

By | September 27, 2021

There are different views of where the Middle East begins and where it ends. Similar to Central Asia, the Near East is always defined differently. One of the most common definitions is that the area is bordered by the Red Sea and the Mediterranean Sea to the west, Iran to the east, the Indian Ocean to the south, and the Caspian and Black Sea to the north, and the Caucasus.

The following countries are part of the Near East: Sinai Peninsula, as part of Egypt, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Georgia, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Yemen (excluding Socotra Island), Jordan, Qatar, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and Cyprus.

20 countries united to the Near East

If you look at the location of the Near East on the map, the area is relatively well defined. However, there are some peculiarities. So Turkey is there, but since the country is divided into a European and an Asian area, only the part east of the Bosphorus belongs to the Near East.

Egypt is on the African continent, as is the Sinai peninsula. Nevertheless, due to the separation by the Jordan ditch, it is counted among the Near East. Cyprus, which is politically and culturally part of Europe, also geographically falls into the Near East.

The 20 countries have a total population of around 300 million people. The country with the largest population is Iran with 75.2 million inhabitants, the least people live in Bahrain and Cyprus, there are only 1.2 million each. The largest country in terms of area is Saudi Arabia with 2.1 million square kilometers. It is six times larger than Germany and occupies around a third of the Near East. The smallest country is Bahrain with 750 square kilometers (comparable to Hamburg). Bahrain also has the largest population density with 1,598 people per square kilometer. Oman is the least populated with 10.4 inhabitants per square kilometer. Learn more about Oman economy on agooddir.

Geographical features of the Near East

The largest parts of the Near East are dominated by desert areas and mountains. Larger mountain ranges can be found especially in the northern part, for example in the countries of Syria, Iraq, Iran, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan. The largest and most famous mountain range is the Caucasus, which offers a natural border with Russia in the north. Middle East has an area of ​​7,558,522 square kilometers.

There are numerous seas around the Near East. There is hardly a country that does not border on a larger body of water. In the west there are the Mediterranean Sea and the Red Sea, in the south the Gulf of Aden, the Arabian Sea, the Gulf of Oman and the Persian Gulf. The Caspian and the Black Sea can be found in the north.

Alternative names in Middle East are the Middle East, the Middle East or the Orient in general.

United Arab Emirates

7 Emirates have merged to form the United Arab Emirates in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula. The Emirates are called Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ra´s al Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Qaiwain. The capital is called Abu Dhabi. The form of government is a constitutional monarchy, headed by President Sheikh Chalifa bin Zayid Al Nahyan. The head of government is Prime Minister Sheikh Muhammad bin Raschid Al Maktum.

The United Arab Emirates have an area of ​​83,600 square kilometers, on which 4,765,000 people live. This results in a population density of 64 inhabitants per km². The United Arab Emirates are among the richest countries in the world. There you will find the sixth largest oil deposit in the world.

In the south, the country has a 457 km border with Saudi Arabia. In the east, the Emirates border with Oman with a border line of 410 kilometers. In the north the country lies on the Persian Gulf and in the east on the Gulf of Oman. Abu Dhabi is the largest emirate, occupying 87 percent of the total area of ​​the United Arab Emirates. Ajman has an area of ​​259 km², making it the smallest emirate, which makes up 0.33 percent of the country.

Dry sand deserts dominate the country. Two large oases are Al-Ain / Buraimi in the border area with Oman and in the south the Liwa oasis. The Jabal Adhan, with its 1127 meters high and the, with 1527 meters, slightly higher Jabal Yibir are the highest mountains of the United Arab Emirates. Some of the names of the Emirates have very beautiful translations, for example Abu Dhabi means “father of the Gazelle”, Fujairah means “sunrise”, Ra´s al-Khaimah is the “top of the tent”, Sharjah: “illuminated by the sun” and Umm al-Qaiwain is the “home of the comorans”.

The Dubai World Central International Airport, which is just 40 kilometers away from Dubai, will become the largest airport in the world. There are international airports in all capitals of the individual emirates.

Middle East - Western Asia